WarhammerAlliance.com’s Banning Practices
Important update (8/28/08)
As a regular reader might have noticed, I leave all comments, good and bad, in my blog section. I also leave my mistakes in my blog posts too. In this case, I have something that is neither a negative nor a positve, nor a mistake or a correct statement. This is an update, however, that I find to be very important – As noted in the comments section, Avien from Warhammer Alliance has proactively reviewed my situation and reinstated my account.
I want to take this opportunity to give a big thank you to Avien and the rest of the WHA staff for reviewing this!
As indicated earlier, however, I’m going to leave up the original blog post so that you can see how both I and they handled the situation. If I over reacted, you should know it. If they didn’t act, you should know it. In this case, I think everyone acted in an appropriate manner, and I’m glad this has been resolved :-)
==== Original Post Below =====
Here’s a neat little page that showed for me when I logged in:

pwnt by WHA
I had asked a question that seemed related to RvR (I asked where the warcamp for High Elf Tier 2 was) in the RvR forums, and in order to be helpful, I posted a link to a map. In fact, here’s the exactly link I posted:
http://www.discofiend.com/imgs/where_is_warcamp.jpg
That apparently didn’t sit well with their staff, so now I’m banned from WarhammerAlliance.com for “attack site” (a wonderfully descriptive reason).
I don’t know if this is standard practice for them or not, but it’s pretty terrible in my opinion. It’s too bad, I was enjoying the site. I’ll try vnboards or twotonhammer for now, but it seems like so far WHA is the place to be.
Update!!!
I found this in my email:
Dear disquette,
You have received a new private message at Warhammer Forums from Engrey, entitled “You have received an infraction at Warhammer Forums”.
To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://www.warhammeralliance.com/forums/private.php
This is the message that was sent:
***************
Dear disquette,
You have received an infraction at Warhammer Forums.
Reason: Forum Rules Violation (30 Day Suspension)
——-
Do not post sites that can download programs to your computer. Since the link you posted was listed as an attack site you are being suspended for 30-days.
——-
This infraction is worth 12 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.
Original Post:
http://www.warhammeralliance.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1199903#post1199903
—Quote—
*Edited for content*
—End Quote—
All the best,
Warhammer Forums
***************
Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:
http://www.warhammeralliance.com/forums/private.php
All the best,
Warhammer Forums
I think what has happened is this: My personal domain’s site was hacked, as were all of the sites using phbb which resided on the servers of my web-hosting company. This was a few months ago. When I found out what happened to the hosting company, I took down all of the affected areas of my site, cleaned it up per the web hoster’s instructions on how to do so, and the web hoster said ’sorry about that’, and re-opened my site.
So, apparently WHA uses an old “attack site” list.
Thanks guys.
August 27, 2008 at 1:47 am |
Oof. Might just be a list of sites that have ever been flagged as potentially hazardous. Wonder if they can get you off of it…
August 27, 2008 at 2:06 am |
Well, I tried writing them using their “website” contact form, linked them to this post, and said something along the lines of “I’d be more than happy to post your (WHA’s) side of the story”, but I haven’t heard back. So, I’m just reading the forums as anonymous and unable to post at the moment.
Thanks for the comment, and keep up your good work on the forums too! (your name is easy to remember ;) )
August 27, 2008 at 7:49 pm |
Hey, your domain is blacklisted by firefox/google. thats why you got banned. Look @ http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=de&site=http://www.discofiend.com/imgs/where_is_warcamp.jpeg
for more infos.
August 28, 2008 at 12:03 am |
Thank you very much for the information. I’ve written google and hopefully will be removed from the blacklists.
I really appreciate the help!
August 28, 2008 at 3:19 pm |
Heya,
Avien from WHA here. I’ve investigated the matter and it seems that being blacklisted by Google was indeed the reason you got banned. I’ve checked your link and found nothing hostile there.
Your ban is lifted and we would like to apologize for the mess. We hope you come back and enjoy WHA and its community.
Sorry.
- Avien
August 28, 2008 at 5:33 pm |
You rock! Thanks :-)
I can’t log into word press to edit the main post from my work machine, but will do so asap with the update when I get home.